The International Student Forum

OPT - Can i start work before the designated valid date?

Got any immigration questions for the USA? Post them here for all to help answer!

Moderator: Bobby Chung

Forum rules
Our rules are simple:
- Spam will not be tolerated
- Never use abusive or offensive language
- ABSOLUTELY NO marketing or promotional links allowed

PLEASE NOTE THIS REGARDING MARKETING OR LINKS
All links posted in our forums are "nofollow" and carry no search engine weight.

If you wish to advertise or promote a service you offer to international students, please see the appropriate forum for Advertising/ Promotion. It's very simple, fail to adhere to these guidelines and you will be banned and removed - your are only wasting our time and your time!

OPT - Can i start work before the designated valid date?

Postby aceman » Fri, 25 Jun 2010 08:02:12 -0500

Hi, about a month ago I graduated from my MBA program and have an approved OPT work permit. I also just got a very good 3 month internship offer at a great company, excited about the opportunity. Since the length is only 3 months, the expiration of the OPT is not an issue at all. I will be paid a very good salary with this position.

The company really wants me to start July 7th, and I have already told them I would, I didn't think there are any problems. I signed the offer letter and sent it back.

However, I just realized the start date on my OPT card is July 28th, a random date my school advisor picked out.

Is this going to be a problem? I do not want to jeopardize this great opportunity because of a random date someone else picked out for me...I know that the company needs to file I9 and W2 forms with the government and I don't want them to be liable for anything or get in trouble. However it will be very hard to move the start date.

I've heard people can volunteer for free or something, but as I mentioned I am getting paid. Does the government even care that the start date is a couple weeks off?