The International Student Forum

CAN MY WIFE BECOME A PERMANENT RESIDENT

Got any immigration questions for the USA? Post them here for all to help answer!

Moderator: Bobby Chung

Forum rules
Our rules are simple:
- Spam will not be tolerated
- Never use abusive or offensive language
- ABSOLUTELY NO marketing or promotional links allowed

PLEASE NOTE THIS REGARDING MARKETING OR LINKS
All links posted in our forums are "nofollow" and carry no search engine weight.

If you wish to advertise or promote a service you offer to international students, please see the appropriate forum for Advertising/ Promotion. It's very simple, fail to adhere to these guidelines and you will be banned and removed - your are only wasting our time and your time!

CAN MY WIFE BECOME A PERMANENT RESIDENT

Postby JefF19 » Sun, 09 Apr 2006 06:06:41 -0500

My name is Jeff and I am a permanent resident residing in Wisconsin. I got married to a F 1 student three months ago. I was wondering whether she qualify to apply for a " green card". If yes, can she work ? her F 1 status will be expiring late 2009. Can I get a lawyer to help us ? Please let me know what you guys think.
JefF19

Permanent Resident

Postby arekmalang72 » Mon, 10 Apr 2006 04:15:29 -0500

Hi Jeff,

Yes, you can sponsor your wife to become a legal permanent resident (LPR). The process is very simple. There are four (4) immigration forms you need to fill out. They are: I-130, I-485, Affidavit of Support, and Health checkup form (filled out by authorized immigration doctors).